GGC Well-Represented on All-A.I.I. Teams


For the second consecutive season, the Georgia Gwinnett men’s and women’s soccer teams were among the most decorated in the Association of Independent Institutions as 12 Grizzlies earned all-conference recognition, as announced by the leagueon Thursday evening.

The teams, which combined for 20 victories on the season, were bolstered by five total selections on each the first and the second teams as well as an honorable mention apiece.

The women placed three on the first team squad, led by high-scoring sophomore Nikki LeFevre, who leads the team with nine goals and three assists, and she was joined by midfielder Sara Lindell as well as key defensive cog Kelsey Griswold. Both LeFevre and Griswold were recognized for the second consecutive season as they took home honorable mention and first team accolades, respectively, a season ago.

Magaly Gutierrez, who has played much of the season in goal for the Grizzlies, owns nearly every goalkeeping record in school history and she followed up an honorable mention nod a year ago with place on the second team this time around. She’s joined on the squad by another important defensive player in Melissa Lay.

Another defender, Tiffany Rodriguez, rounded out the women’s honorees, and the Armstrong Atlantic State transfer is just as crucial offensively as she’s tied for the team lead in assists with four.

For the men, Ibrahima Sissoko, who entered the weekend with a team-best eight assists to go along with a pair of goals, snagged a first team spot along with Ruud Grol, who has been essential in helping GGC hold opponents to just 10 goals on the season.

Leading goal-scorer Jamie King headlined the second team with seven goals, and he’s joined by his fellow countrymen in goalkeeper Lewis Sharpe and Callum Mordey. Sharpe, GGC’s all-time leader in shutouts and saves, has been on top form for much of the season, racking up 53 stops and four clean sheets. Mordey has been ever-present in the midfield, starting all 14 matches this season and notching a goal in the process.

Both Sissoko and Sharpe earned an honorable mention designation last season, and Grol has now taken home first team honors in both of his seasons in Lawrenceville.

Martin Lugo, who has a trio of goals and four assists on the year, was named honorable mention.

Ashford’s second-ranked men’s team swept the individual awards as Fernando Machado was named both Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year. Chris Higgins earned Goalkeeper of the Year and Casey Culver took home Newcomer of the Year. Richard Markham was tabbed as Coach of the Year.

For the women, Cal State San Marcos grabbed most of the awards as Paulina Good earned Player of the Year, and teammates Nicole Luna and Amanda Sears were recognized as the top defensive player and goalkeeper, respectively. Fisher’s Julia Schojan earned newcomer honors, and CSUSM’s Ron Pulvers earned Coach of the Year.

Kaitlyn Richards-Lynn is a senior at Duluth High School. She has been an active member of her school’s Cross Country and Track and Field teams for the past three years. She is also a member of the Gwinnett Student Leadership Team and Student Body Vice President.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *